Adnan Yaakob thanks Pahang for renewing BN’s mandate


KUANTAN: Pahang Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob has thanked voters for allowing the party to form the state government again.

He expressed his gratitude on behalf of the state Umno and Barisan in a short message on his Facebook page.

“I thank all voters for choosing Pahang Barisan until we managed to obtain a simple majority of 25 seats. For the two-thirds majority, we needed 28.

“In the last term, we had 30 seats, now, 25 seats; we are grateful to Allah and are thankful to all voters,” he said.

Adnan also reportedly said at a press conference in Bentong that it would be up to the Sultan of Pahang and the Regent to decide who would be the most suitable candidate for the Mentri Besar post.

He said for now, the state Umno and Barisan would conduct a post-mortem to identify matters that had to be carried out and hand it over to the state government to be implemented.

To a question on the status of mega projects in Pahang such as the East Coast Rail Link, Adnan said it would be up to the Federal Government to decide.

Adnan said overall, Pahang Barisan did quite well compared to the other states that were lost to Pakatan Harapan and PAS.

“If we look at other states (previously controlled by Barisan), they even lost their states, but not us. Although we lost the two-thirds majority, we still control with a simple majority.

“Though simple, it’s still big – 25 against 17. It’s not 25 against 23, (nor) 25 against 20 (but) 25 against 17.

“This will contribute to a more stable government by having just a small, simple majority,” he said.

Although Barisan managed to form the state government, it suffered huge losses and had its hold on the largest state in the peninsular diminished due to the multi-cornered fights in all but one state seat.

PAS made the largest gain by capturing eight state seats, pulling off several upsets.

Pakatan coalition defended nine seats, with DAP holding seven and PKR, two.

As for the 14 parliamentary seats in Pahang, Barisan retained its hold on nine while Bentong, Raub, Indera Mahkota, Kuantan and Temerloh were wrested by Pakatan.